Handshake Columbus

Columbus, Ohio was the inaugural city for the Handshake Program.  It began in 2012 with three students and three coaches.  Fast forward to 2018, 36 students and 36 coaches are in the program.  By the end of 2018, we anticipate 160 students will have completed the program and received scholarships to their continued education of choice.  

2018 Students

Andrew Kalista — Westerville North
Kaitlyn Kopyar — Dublin Coffman
Matthew Krupa-Gregory — Whetstone
Witty Kwok — Hilliard Darby
Mallory Mahoney — Westerville Central
Charles McFadden — Bexley
Isaiah Murphy — Walnut Ridge
Erika Opperman — Hilliard Darby
Brian Rapp — Gahanna Lincoln
Will Rigby — Dublin Jerome
David Rucker — North International
Bryden Scherger — Reynoldsburg
Anthony Sciarroni — St. Francis DeSales
Bryce Small — Watkins Memorial
Allison Thornberry — Pickerington Centra
Grant Tiefenthaler — St. Charles
Chris Veney — West
Jack Wilson — New Albany

Tess Baker — Bexley
Mallory Barnes — Eastmoor Academy
Luke Bartemes — Dublin Coffman
Michael Bivens — Whitehall Yearling
Joshua Blankenship — Worthington Kilbourne
Cannon Blauser — Hilliard Bradley
Tonesty Burt — Centennial
Miicah Coleman — Eastmoor Academy
Michael Dailey — Westerville South
Kaitlin Dean — Watkins Memorial
Andrea Decker — Hilliard Bradley
Jared Ellis — Grove City
N’Keeley Elmore — Northland
Charlie Fleming — Upper Arlington
Hallie Fryman — Central Crossing
Addison Gualtieri — Bishop Ready
Shayanna Hinkle-Moore — Independence
Sadik Ibrahim — Franklin Heights

2017 Handshake Columbus Students

Participating Columbus Schools

Big Walnut
Bishop Ready
Canal Winchester
Central Crossing
Columbus Alternative
Dublin Coffman
Dublin Jerome
Dublin Scioto

Eastmoor Academy
Fort Hayes A.A.
Franklin Heights
Grove City
Hilliard Bradley
Hilliard Darby
Johnstown Monroe
Marion Franklin
New Albany
North International

Pickerington North
Pickerington Central
St. Charles Preparatory
Thomas Worthington
Upper Arlington
Walnut Ridge
Watkins Memorial
Westerville Central
Westerville North
Westerville South
Worthington Kilbourne

The Columbus Program

The Handshake Scholarship Program consists of eight scheduled sessions between the Students and their Handshake Coaches over the course of the calendar year.  The sessions are workshop type group discussions focusing on the Handshake 5Ps:  Perseverance, Passion, People, Positivity, and Presence.  Students learn from their Handshake Coaches, peers and special guests who provide different perspectives on what it takes to be successful.

Session #1 Kick-off & Orientation:  Monday February 26, 7:00-9:00PM -The Wendy's Company

Session #2 Student/Coach One-on-One:  March (Date/Time TBD) - Student's School

Session #3 PERSEVERANCE:  *Thursday April 12, 7:00-9:00PM - Team Only, Location TBD

Session #4 PASSION:  *Tuesday June 5, 7:00-9:00PM - Team Only, Location TBD

Session #5 POSITIVITY:  Wednesday August 1, 6:00-8:00PM - All Teams Meet, Blendon Woods Metro Park

Session #6 PEOPLE:  *Wednesday September 12, 7:00-9:00PM - Two Teams Only, Location TBD

Session #7 PRESENCE:  *Tuesday November 13, 7:00-9:00PM - Team Only, Location TBD

Session #8 ANNUAL ASSEMBLY (Awards & Celebration):  Wednesday January 23, 7:00-9:00PM - All Teams, Families & Guests Meet, Location TBD

*Note: The four Team Only Meeting dates and times are subject to change based on student and coach availability.

2018 Columbus Handshake Coaches

  Deborah Boiarsky   Porter Wright

Deborah Boiarsky
Porter Wright

  Stephanie Brown   Retail Consulting

Stephanie Brown
Retail Consulting

  Eric Brummett   DSW

Eric Brummett

  Dain Bussewitz   Alliance Data

Dain Bussewitz
Alliance Data

  Ron Cadieux    The Raines Group

Ron Cadieux
The Raines Group

  Travis Jackson    Brooksource

Travis Jackson

  Matthew Kramer   KPMG

Matthew Kramer

  Larry Moss   Nationwide Children's

Larry Moss
Nationwide Children's

  David Probst    Stonehenge

David Probst

  Roger Rawlins   DSW

Roger Rawlins

  Steven Troth   Wendy's

Steven Troth

  Megan Whited    Porter Wright

Megan Whited
Porter Wright

  Melissa Durham   DSW

Melissa Durham

  Steven Karzmer  Calfee

Steven Karzmer

  Judy Lanning   Community Leader

Judy Lanning
Community Leader

  Jason Mulder     EY

Jason Mulder  

  Tyler Probst   Red Capital Markets

Tyler Probst
Red Capital Markets

  Lauren Risch    L Brands

Lauren Risch
L Brands

  Mike Van Straten    L Brands

Mike Van Straten
L Brands

  Jennie Wilson   MGF Sourcing

Jennie Wilson
MGF Sourcing

  Lori Fry   Navigator Mgmt Partners

Lori Fry
Navigator Mgmt Partners

  Brian Kirsch  DSW

Brian Kirsch

  Cody Martin     PNC Mortgage

Cody Martin  
PNC Mortgage

  Jared Poff    DSW

Jared Poff

  Sandy Raines   HER Realtors

Sandy Raines
HER Realtors

  Pete Risch   Morgan Stanley

Pete Risch
Morgan Stanley

  Adam Weingartner   Bluestone Wealth

Adam Weingartner
Bluestone Wealth

  Chris Wisecup    Deloitte

Chris Wisecup

  Leigh Helsel   ICC

Leigh Helsel

  Michelle Krall   DSW

Michelle Krall

  Sean Morrison  KPMG

Sean Morrison

  Chris Pope    NAI Ohio Equities

Chris Pope  
NAI Ohio Equities

  Ron Ransom   Nationwide

Ron Ransom

  Paul Schroeder   Big Lots

Paul Schroeder
Big Lots

  Larry Wendling    The Daimler Group

Larry Wendling
The Daimler Group

  Michelle Wisecup    Riverside Dr. Animal Care

Michelle Wisecup
Riverside Dr. Animal Care

Columbus Leadership Team

Susan Gallogly - President

Joel Juday - Vice President

Steven Morgan - Secretary

Joel Parker - Treasurer

Penny Davis

Daniel Juday

David Mangen

Craig Simon